Banyoles kicks off the international XC season with a spectacular starting list

Now in its 18th edition, the Banyoles event will boast the best riders on the planet with a starting grid worthy of the World Cup.

Marotte, Tempier, Vogel, Valero, Cooper, Fumic, Mantecón, Sarrou, Drechou, Coloma, Sintsov, Gaze and McConnell are just some of the names vying to beat the great winner of previous editions, Koretzky.

The XC world converges in Banyoles

If Banyoles is known as the cathedral of mountain biking it’s no coincidence, as it will play host to more than 900 riders from over 30 countries and five different continents.

The New Zealanders, Anton Cooper (Trek Factory Racing) and Samuel Gaze (Specialized Racing) and the Cannondale Factory Racing riders Maxime Marotte and Manuel Fumic are sure to play a leading role in the race, just as they did at the last World Cup.

The entire KMC EKoi Orbea team, led by Victor Koretzky, along with Florian Vogel, Thomas Litscher, Annie Last, Malene Degn and Milan Vader, will also be in attendance. While Team Massi, with the renowned Hugo Drehou and Pasquine Vandermouten, David Rosa, Loana Lecomte and Thomas Griot, are also set to start.

The Argentinean champion Catriel Soto will compete alongside the Spanish champion and European bronze medallist David Valero in addition to Natalia Fischer (MMR Factory Racing Team).

The Italian Bianchi-Countervail MTB Team, with Chiara Teocchi, Nadir Colledani and the Frenchman Stephane Tempier, will also be sure not to miss out. Likewise, fellow French riders Jordan Sarrou, Axel Zingle, Thomas Bonnet and Mathis Azzaro will be making their debut with Absolute Absalon.

BH Templo Cafes UCC will boast the Olympic medallist Carlos Coloma, Carlos Canal and the local rider Josep Duran, who will face another rider on home turf, Jofre Cullell (Megamo Factory Team). This exciting clash will also include the Romanian rider Vlad Dascalu from Brújula Bike, who will be joined in his team by Ricardo Marihneiro and Lejla Tanovic. The Primaflor Mondraker Rotor team is set to go all out with the Russian rider Anton Sintsov, Pablo Rodriguez, the Australians Rebecca McConnell and Daniel MacConnell, Maria Rodriguez and David Campos to make sure that the team has more than one front runner. And since this is a unique race, previous participants won’t be hesitating to try their luck again, as is the case for the 2018 winner, Elisabeth Brandau.

Scores of UCI points up for grabs

As a Hors Categorie event the race sets the standard for the form of the discipline's greatest stars, who will try their hand at tough but exciting races, thanks to the spectacular support of countless Spanish and foreign spectators, who put their all into cheering on the competitors until the very end.

A great number of UCI points will be divided among numerous participants as part of a cross country event that is known the world over thanks to its supporters and the organisers.

Registration open until 20 February - Registrations

Banyoles kicks off the international XC season with a spectacular starting list